EDITORIAL NOTES

Editor: E. G. Eberle, 10 West Chase Street, Baltimore, Md.

OFFICERS-ELECT OF THE AMERICAN PHARMACEUTICAL ASSOCIATION.

The Board of Canvassers of the AMERICAN PHARMACEUTICAL ASSOCIATION have announced the results of the mail ballot for officers of the ensuing year. W. Paul Briggs is Chairman of the Board, and the other two members are: Morris Goldstein and Walter S. Nicklin. The officerselect are: *President*, Robert L. Swain, Baltimore; *First Vice-President*, Robert P. Fischelis, Trenton, N. J.; *Second Vice-President*, John C. Krantz, Jr., Baltimore; *Members of the Council:* H. V. Arny, New York; H. C. Christensen, Chicago; Walter D. Adams, Forney, Texas. These officers will be installed at the Madison meeting of the ASSOCIATION.

OMISSIONS.

The inclusion of the Index and minutes makes it necessary to omit several departments and abridge others in this issue of the Journal.

NATIONAL DRUG TRADE CONFERENCE.

The National Drug Trade Conference convened in Washington, December 14th. Among the actions taken were: Urging the constituent members to follow measures in Congress relating to the drug industry, enactment of legislation prohibiting counterfeiting of drugs-S. 5149, introduced by Senator Copeland, seeks "to prohibit the counterfeiting of drugs, to provide penalties therefor, and for other purposes." The recent report of the Committee on Costs of Medical Care received consideration-the Conference received the statement of Ambrose Hunsberger, setting forth the understanding under which he signed the majority report of the Committee. Robert L. Swain reported on the establishment of a national council to work out standards for pharmaceuti-He urged the study of the cal education. report and action to more closely ally the drug industry with the profession of pharmacy.

Chairman James H. Beal, of the committee charged with the preparation of a table of potent and toxic drugs, submitted a tentative list of substances for such a table. The list will be printed and distributed for criticism and comment. Philip I. Heuisler and S. L. Hilton described the progress of the study on the simplification of glass containers. Resolutions were adopted recommending to the Glass Manufacturers' Association that graduation marks be removed from prescription bottles and that tolerances suggested by the Committee be accepted for such containers and ointment jars. Chairman A. C. Taylor reported on the uniform state narcotic act and recommended minor amendments to its provisions. P. I. Heuisler reported for the Committee on Endowments, Robert L. Swain reported on the status of pharmaceutical service in the U. S. Army. H. C. Christensen presented plans for pharmacy's participation in the World's Fair, and Dr. Cary of the Exposition staff—described the exhibit plans in the Hall of Science. E. F. Kelly reported on the progress made in correcting the misuse of the word "drug" and reference to the name of the drug in the press, when it has been misused for suicidal or other harmful purposes.

The following officers were elected for the ensuing year: *President*, Carson P. Frailey; *Vice-President*, Ambrose Hunsberger; *Secretary-Treasurer*, E. F. Kelly; *Counsellor to U. S. Chamber of Commerce*, S. L. Hilton. The officers are members of the *Executive Committee* and also the following: W. L. Crounse, Harry Noonan, Philip I. Heuisler, A. C. Taylor, A. G. DuMez, R. E. Lee Williamson.

OFFICERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSOCIA-TION OF INSECTICIDE AND DISINFEC-TANT MANUFACTURERS.

The officers of the National Association of Insecticide and Disinfectant Manufacturers met in New York City, December 12th. The following officers were elected for the ensuing year: President, Peter Dougan; First Vice-President, Charles P. McCormick; Second Vice-President, Samuel H. Bell; Secretary, H. W. Cole; Treasurer, John Powell. Members of the Board of Governors are: W. J. Anders, J. L. Brenn, H. W. Hamilton, F. A. Hoyt, Dr. George F. Reddish, Dr. C. H. Peet, Simon S. Selig, Dr. Robert C. White, W. J. Zick and Evans E. A. Stone.

1360